The First Day of 2014

Today is the first day of 2014. A new year. A new moon. A fresh start. Nothing is really different. Not unless we want it to be. Not unless we choose it to be.

Some of us come into the new year, but crumble under the pressure of whatever constraints or unrealistic expectations we may have set for ourselves.

There are thousands of articles written about resolutions; how to set them, how to stick to them. Do this. Don’t do that. It can be a bit confusing & overwhelming, and the fear of failure is just about enough to make some of us not even want to try.

Deep down, we know we’ll never actually stick to whatever it is we’ve said we would, even though we wish we could. We know we’re not actually good enough, strong enough, brave enough to do THAT.

That’s for other people. People that are different than me. People that are prettier/more handsome than me, richer than me, smarter than me, blah, blah, blah. And, I’m not one of those people.

And thank God I’m not because those people are annoying. Those people don’t even know how to have a good time. Those people aren’t really happy, they’re just pretending.

Wow! We managed to completely rip ourselves to shreds and everyone else we know all in one swell swoop. This year’s off to a great start so far. Haha! finding lack in others

But, this is not true. You do not suck and neither do I. We are whole. We are perfect beings trying to navigate life the best way we know how. Each and every decision we make is just to try to feel okay. Do I want Chinese food or pizza for dinner? We choose whatever we think will just make us feel okay.

Through my widely varied experiences of life, I’ve come to believe that we have to go within.

Within? Yes.

It is full of light and full of darkness. Our hearts hold the secrets to our deepest desires and the map to fulfill our mission. The heart radiates light and serves as a lantern while discovering and unearthing the deep dark crevices and caves. There are valleys and tall, tall mountains, and this path is the way home. This place is heaven on Earth and is also scary as shit!

Because I’m privileged enough to teach Yoga for a living, and because I’ve committed to positivity, some people think it’s a hoax and a bullshit life that is full of puppies and hearts and smiles and love.  And that because I share positive messages, because I choose to share my joys that it’s a false sense of what life is really about.

I say, I’m sorry if I’ve given you the wrong impression. Life is crazy hard. I feel anxious and depressed and I struggle constantly with remembering that I am already whole. That I am enough.

The reason why I’ve committed to this work and to this message, is because when I’m integrated in this space I feel better, I remember that I am whole and I am at peace.

And if my sharing can help just one other person feel better and remember this for themselves as well, I’m in alignment with my life’s purpose.

(Raw, unedited, no make-up selfie on New Year’s Day 2014)unnamed

I wholeheartedly believe, like I’ve shared before, that we teach what we have to learn. I teach and share what I do because I need to learn it myself.

This year, my intention (notice, different from a resolution or a goal) is to Stop Judging Others and then maybe I can learn to Stop Judging Myself. Won’t you join me? no interest in judging others

Sending you so much love and so much light. Sending you infinite blessings and the hope that you will allow for miracles and magic in your life this year.

If this post spoke to you at all, please share in the comments section and share with others!

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness. Only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate. Only love can do that.” – Dr. Martin Luther King

One thought on “The First Day of 2014

Leave a Reply

